
 A couple wishing to renew their vows or who 

has a common law marriage may obtain a 

License confirming the marriage. 

MISCELLANEOUS: 

Applicants will need to provide the following               

information: 
 

 Full name and address. 

 Last name at birth. 

 Social security number. 

 City & State of birth. 

 Father / Mother / Legal Guardian name(s). 

 City & State where Father / Mother /     

Guardian live (or indicate deceased). 

 If divorced, you will need to provide the date, 

type of court, and city and state where the     

divorce took place. 

 If widowed, you will need to provide the date 

of death. 

INFORMATION REQUIRED FOR         

APPLICATION:  Both parties must personally appear in the 

Ouray County Clerk’s Office to complete an 

application for a Marriage License. If one  

party  is unavailable, an absentee affidavit 

must be completed and notarized (including 

a copy of their ID). 

 For Proxy Marriages, please see CRS 14-2-

109 — applicable to U.S. Military and         

government contractors only. 

 The fee is $30.00 (cash or check). 

 The Marriage License is valid for 35 days and 

may be used immediately upon issuance. 

 The License is only valid within the State of 

Colorado. 

APPLYING FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE: 

 Return the completed Marriage License and 

Certificate (by mail or in person) to the Ouray 

County Clerk’s Office for recording within 63 

days of the marriage. 

 Failure to file within 63 days will require a 

late fee of up to $50.00. 

 Once recorded, the original Marriage License 

and Certificate will be returned to you. 

 If unused, you still must return the              

uncompleted Marriage License and           

Certificate to the Ouray County Clerk’s Office. 

COMPLETED LICENSE PROCESS: 

 Couples may solemnize their own marriage in 

Colorado (C.R.S. 14-2-109). 

 Civil marriages can be solemnized by judges,    

retired judges, magistrates and public       

officials authorized to perform marriage    

ceremonies. 

 Religious marriages can be performed in ac-

cordance with any mode of solemnization 

recognized by a religious denomination or  

Native American tribe. 

 Clergy from out-of-state need not be          

registered in Colorado. 

 Witnesses are not required in Colorado, but 

some clergy, judges, or public officials may 

request them. 

CEREMONY: 

The age requirements for both parties are the same. 
 

 Applicants' 18 and older: No parental consent 

is required. 

 16 - 17:  Consent of both parents, the parent 

having full decision making authority,     

guardian, OR judicial approval required. 

 Younger than 16: Consent of parents /  

guardian AND judicial approval (i.e., court 

order) are required. 

AGE REQUIREMENTS: 

In order to issue a Marriage License, you must    

provide valid proof of age and proof of identity.  The         

following forms of identification and a photo ID are 

acceptable.                                                          

(Pursuant to C.R.S. 14-2-106 and 24-72.1-101) 

 

 A valid Colorado driver’s license. 

 A valid out-of-state photo driver’s license or 

photo ID card. 

 U.S. Passport. 

 Valid foreign passport WITH I-94 or valid  

processed for I-551 stamp. 

 I-94 with refugee / asylee status. 

 Valid I-551 Resident Alien / Permanent    

Resident card. 

 Valid I-688 (photo temp resident card),           

I-688B and I-766 (photo employment        

authorization card). 

 Valid U.S. Military ID. 

 Tribal Identification Card. 

 Certificate of Naturalization (with intact pho-

to). 

 

The following forms of identification are NOT         

acceptable: 

 

 Certified birth certificate (proof of date of 

birth may be obtained from a certified birth 

certificate when it is presented along with a 

valid picture ID). 

 Baptismal certificate. 

 Mexican Consular ID (“Matricula Consular”). 

PROOF OF IDENTITY AND AGE: 
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 A couple may not marry when one of the   

parties is still married to another person. 

 Marriage between ancestor and              

descendant is prohibited regardless of 

whether by half or whole blood.  Marriage 

between cousins is permitted. 

PROHIBITED: 

Physical Address:    541 4th St. 
Mailing Address:      P.O. Box C 
      Ouray, CO 81427 
 
Phone: (970) 325-4961 
Fax:      (970) 325-0452 

 

Certified copies of the Marriage License and           

Certificate should be purchased if either party 

plans to change or hyphenate his/her last name.   

 

 Certified copies cost $1.25 each and can 

be pre-paid for when applying for the     

Marriage License. 

PHYSICAL ADDRESS: 541 4TH ST 

MAILING ADDRESS:   PO BOX C 

              OURAY, CO 81427 

PHONE: (970) 325-4961 

FAX:       (970) 325-0452 

WEBSITE: www.ouraycountyco.gov 

OFFICE HOURS: 9:OO AM - 4:00 PM 
(MONDAY - THURSDAY, EXCEPT OFFICIAL HOLIDAYS) 

 

If you have a social security number, you are       

required to provide it.  If either party doesn't have 

a social security number (they are from another 

country or they are in the process of obtaining U.S. 

citizenship) he/she is not required to have one, 

but must complete an affidavit regarding lack of 

social security number. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: 

CERTIFIED COPIES: 

EMAIL: mnauer@ouraycountyco.gov 


