Marriage licenses are issued to couples whose ceremony will take place in Colorado. (Blood tests are not required).
The license is valid for 30 days from the date it was obtained. There is no waiting period to use the license after it is issued. The fee for a license is $30.00, and for certified copies is $1.25 plus a delivery fee. Licenses must be returned to the Clerk & Recorder’s office within 60 days after the ceremony for recording. Failure to return within 60 days is subject to a fine.
· For ages 18 and over, no parental consent is required.
· For ages 16 and 17, consent of both parents, or the parent or guardian having legal custody,
· For ages under 16, consent of parents or guardian and judicial approval are required.
· Proof of age is required to obtain a marriage license
· Both parties must be present to apply for a marriage license and both must sign the application.
· Date of birth
· Current address
· Place of birth
· Your social security number (if you have no social security number, then you must complete
an affidavit at the time of application)
· You do not have to be a U.S. citizen to obtain a marriage license
· Names and addresses of parents
· Marital status
o if divorced, the date and the court where the final decree was issued must be provided
o If widowed, then the date you were widowed.
A marriage can be solemnized by:
· Judges or retired judges
· Indian tribe officials
· Clergy (out-of-state clergy need not be registered in Colorado)
· Couples may solemnize their own ceremony
Only the above list can solemnize a couple's vows
Witnesses are not required in the State of Colorado
Obtaining a copy of your Marriage License:
· Copies are available at the Clerk and Recorder’s office at a cost of $1.25
· Statewide searches can be done at the website for the Colorado Department of Public Health .
Ouray County Clerk & Recorder
PO Box C - 541 4th Street - Ouray, CO 81427
Phone: (970) 325-4961 - Fax: (970) 325-0452
Email Clerk & Recorder