- You are here:
- Concealed Handgun Permit
Concealed Handgun Permit
Concealed Handgun Permit
General Information for Obtaining a New Permit or Renewing a Permit
The Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) allows qualified persons to obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP), pursuant to C.R.S. 18-12-201.
Completed applications for a first-time (or more than six months expired) permit must be received in person by appointment only. Do not mail documents. Please be sure to call ahead to make an appointment (970) 325-7272.
- Permit Application
- $100.00 New Application Fee made payable to Ouray County - $52.50 fee due to CBI to accompany application.
- $30 Renewal Fee
- Address Change / Lost or Stolen Form
- CBI Concealed Handgun Permit Reciprocity Information
What to Bring to Your Appointment
- Completed Application - You will need to sign the application in front of the Sheriff's Office personnel processing the application. Please do not sign the document until you are present at your appointment.
- Colorado Drivers' License or State ID with current Ouray County address.
- A check, money order, or exact change for the permit ($100.00 for new applications or $30 for renewals).
- Original Certification for Firearms Training. Acceptable training includes NRA, proof of organized shooting completions, DD-214, or PCS orders. Hunter safety courses and online training classes will not be accepted.
- Sheriff's Office personnel will fingerprint you at your appointment. A separate check or money order payable to CBI for $52.50 will accompany you application for a background check.
To make an appointment, please call (970) 325-7272.
Permit Renewal Requirements
It is the applicant's responsibility to submit for renewal of concealed handgun permit withing 120-days before the permit date expiration. If the permit is more than six months expired, a new application form must be submitted along with the new application fee.
Renewal permit applications may be mailed to the Ouray County Sheriff's Office, PO Box 585, Ouray, CO 81427 with the $30 renewal fee.
For more information regarding renewal of a permit, please contact (970) 325-7272.
LEOSA Concealed Handgun Permit
Under the Law Enforcement Officers' Safety Act (LEOSA), qualified retired or separated law enforcement personnel may apply for a Retired / Separated Law Enforcement Officer Concealed Handgun Permit. A retired or separated officer applying for a permit must reside or maintain a secondary residence in Ouray County.
- Retired Officer Application
- $12.00 Application Fee
- Call (970) 325-7272 to set up an appointment and to discuss qualifications.