Marijuana Licensing Information


Certain marijuana-related businesses are allowed in Ouray County as regulated and permitted by the State of Colorado, Department of Revenue – Marijuana Enforcement Division (MED) and as further regulated by Ouray County Ordinance Number 2016-001. Currently, Ouray County allows marijuana cultivation facilities*, marijuana product manufacturing facilities, and retail marijuana stores through a permitting process overseen by the Local Licensing Authority. Marijuana testing facilities are prohibited. Anyone interested in a pursuing a marijuana-related business in Ouray County is encouraged to review the ordinance available below in PDF format and to call the Land Use Department with any questions.

* Ouray County currently allows a total of 8 marijuana cultivation licenses to be issued. At this time there are no cultivation licenses available. Contingent applications may be accepted pursuant to the provisions of Ordinance 2017-001.